PADI Multilevel Diver Specialty Course

Why should you attend a PADI Multilevel Diver Specialty Course? What is a multilevel diver? Is it like a computer game where I have to beat the Boss at the end to get to the next level?

You probably remember the RDP table from the Open Water Course. It assumed you always went straight to your deepest depth and stayed there for the duration of the dive, severely penalising divers in terms of the calculated residual nitrogen. In reality very few divers dive like this, and with the advent of dive computers that continually analyse depth, time & residual nitrogen you now gain more bottom time for coming up shallower,  maximizing your dive time and fun! If you would  like to understand more about dive computers, how to use them and learn about tools like the eRDPML to plan multilevel dives, then the Multilevel Diver Specialty course is for you.

The Best Part

The best part about the PADI Scuba Diving Multilevel Diver Specialty Course is that you extend your bottom time, giving you time seeing what you want to see and having fun doing it!

What will you learn?

You’ll review decompression theory as it relates to multilevel diving and dive computer models, and plan multilevel dives using the eRDPML. During the first of your two multilevel dives, you’ll plan and execute a two-level dive, and on the second dive, you’ll plan and complete a three-level scuba dive.

What will you do?

You will organize and make at least two Open Water dives under the close eye of your qualified PADI Specialty Instructor to a recommended depth of 18 metres/60 feet

  • Calculate the no decompression limits of a two-depth level dive using the eRDPml.
  • Plan and execute a no decompression, two-depth level dive using the eRDPml or dive computer
  • Directly descend to the deepest level and then progresses up to the second level.
  • Plan and execute a no decompression, three-level dive using the eRDPml and or dive computer that begins with a direct descent to the deepest depth and progresses to two shallower levels.
  • Be a  PADI S.A.F.E. Diver by ascending between levels and from the last level to the surface at a rate not exceeding 18 metres/60 feet per minute, and make a safety stop of at least three minutes at 5 metres/15 feet.
  • Accurately monitor depth, time and air supply on a multilevel dive.
  • Dive avoiding running out of air, disorientation, and sawtooth dive profiles or sharing dive computers


  • Minimum age 12 years old
  • PADI (Junior) Open Water Divers

What will you get?

Apart from the satisfaction that comes from the planning & executing precision multilevel Open Water dives you’ll also get:

  • PADI Multilevel Diver Specialty Certification
  • One of the five PADI Specialty Diver Certifications to achieve the PADI Master Scuba Diver (MSD) Rating
  • The first dive of this PADI Multilevel Diver Specialty Course may credit as an Adventure Dive toward your PADI Advanced Open Water Diver Certification
  • You may be able to get college credit for the PADI Multilevel Diver Specialty Course

Your Next Adventure

A favorite companion course to the  PADI Multilevel Diver Specialty Course is the PADI Enriched Air Diver (EAN) Specialty Course. If you want you can take these two specialties concurrently. Using Enriched Air Nitrox or EANx, allows you to stay down longer at a given depth than you would using air. This is because of the higher oxygen percentage in Enriched Air. But this does carry some extra risks, so you must learn how to set your dive computer accordingly and dive within conservative limits.